Controlling The Clutter

I love Pinterest. It has become my go-to source for just about anything. So much so that I rarely use a search engine; I start with Pinterest. The two categories that I pin the most are recipes and organizational related content.

The most recent bout of organizing started with a pin and a rescue. We had recently picked up an abandoned end table with a broken drawer. My attempts to fix the drawer had not gone as desired. So I started thinking about what we could store in the section where the drawer had been.

A few months prior, Michael and I had decided to stop purchasing DVDs and switch fully to digital media. We have made 1 exception: Disney movies (we buy the ones with the digital copy).

He keeps his media in the bulky black media storage binders, which I hate. I had a collection of about 200 DVDs that we put in a bookcase in the living room. It was split almost evenly between books and DVDs.

Pinterest to the rescue! In the Home Decor section I found a tutorial by Cassie at Hi Sugarplum on storing DVDs in sleeves and baskets instead of the plastic cases. The more I thought about it, the more it made sense! So off we went to Target, where I found these baskets. As it turned out, the drawer area was perfectly sized to fit two small baskets!

It took me a little while to get all of those DVDs into sleeves (total count: 187) but the end result is wonderful!

img_0616-1

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

