Spring Equinox

Today is the Spring Equinox – it is often referred to as the Vernal Equinox.  It is the official first day of Spring.

Today, the day is split (nearly) evenly into 12 hours of daylight and night!  I hope that you were able to get out and enjoy the sun today.  In honor of the holiday, kiddo and I did a little gardening.

I should say this upfront: I don’t have the best history with plants.  Several years ago I decided I wanted a ivy in my bedroom.  I didn’t know anything about plant care.  The pot I chose was cute, but wrong for the plant.  There wasn’t enough light.  Water and good intentions were simply not enough.  The ivy dwindled down to one, sad little leaf before my mother rescued it.  It has moved with her twice and flourishes today in her living room.

So I resigned myself to a black thumb.  A month or so ago I realized that I wanted some green in my living room.  All the white walls of my apartment get so boring sometimes.  The more I thought about it, the I came to the conclusion that if I can handle raising a child – surely I can keep a plant alive.

After weighing my options, I decided to start with a succulent.  I picked up an echeveria from WalMart.   A few weeks later, two more joined and there was a nice little line of terra cotta pots on my deck.

Today’s addition is an umbrella plant!  Kiddo has always been a great lover of dirt so he was quick to agree to help me.  Here’s how it all turned out:

As I knocked off the potting soil I took an opportunity to show him the root system and how it works to nourish the plant.

And finally, our beautiful addition!  Bonus picture of the succulents enjoying the sun.

 

One thought on “Spring Equinox

  1. I’m jealous….it snowed the first day of Spring where I am in NJ. Was not thrilled cleaning off my car this morning! I enjoy planting as well, but don’t have the greenest thumb either. All the plants I had in my house are pretty much gone….I’m hoping to start over soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

