…And Everything In Its Place

I seem to go through moods where something about my house really gets on my nerves. It’s almost always clutter related.  It may be that I feel like I can’t ever find something and it needs to have a designated ‘home.’  Or maybe I need to revamp something we’re already doing.

A month or so ago I found myself really agitated by the mail. There’s not a lot of it anymore, but it seemed to just land in piles all over the house.

I’d clean off the living room table and find something that wasn’t life altering important but that I needed to file or save. Putting it by the microwave just gets in the way (limited counter space) but the location is great in terms of making it easily noticed.

Most of the mail organizers I found had attached key holders along the bottom. I do not need those since I bought one shortly after moving into the apartment.

Here’s the before picture:

image

The available space was kind of unusual in the fact that I didn’t want to move the keys. They were at nearly eye level and not in the way of the light switch. I figured whatever we used wild have to go under the light switch so it didn’t cause issues with things being knocked off the wall when people use the light switch.

Naturally, I got on Pinterest. I found great tutorials on converting wire baskets, hanging file holders and all kinds of things. But nothing that caught my attention. I wanted something that could hold a variety of sizes of envelopes but not look too bulky or business like. After all, it’s going right next to my front door. Which means that I look at it anytime I am on my couch.

Browsing in the bathroom storage section at Walmart, I found the perfect shower caddy. It’s very simple, large enough and even came with the hanging strips! It’s the Command Shower Caddy.

image

 

The only downside was that it was white; just like my walls. I wanted it to match my key holder. A quick coat of spray paint solved that problem!

image

After letting it dry, I followed the instructions to attach the hanging strips and then my boyfriend put it up while I was at work. It hangs from 4 Command strips so making holes in the apartment wall was not necessary.

I came home to my mail in its own space! It was such an easy little project and I love how it has helped bring a bit more order to my life.

image

Even though I totally did not hang up my keys in the last picture.  Ha!

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

5 thoughts on “…And Everything In Its Place

  1. Pingback: Sunday Share 24 | All In A Dad's Work

Leave a Reply

