April 15

I know, technically, today is not Tax Day.   But that’s always my first thought on this date.  Of course, my tax return has already come and gone, so to speak.   All that aside, I learned that there are several special designated days on April 15:

  • National Take a Wild Guess Day
  • National Library Workers Day
  • National Rubber Eraser Day
  • National Glazed Spiral Ham Day
  • National American Sign Language Day

As I’ve mentioned on my About Me page, I have been hard of hearing for my entire life. So if you’re hoping I’m doing a post about glazed ham then you’re at the wrong blog.  Maybe check back around the holidays?

Today also happens to be my boyfriend’s birthday.  I thought it would be fun to learn how to sign a brief message for him.  He’s been absolutely supportive since I found out that it was time for me to get hearing aids (and all that comes with that, which is a topic for another entry).

Here are the details on #NationalASLDay:

National ASL Day is a day of observance celebrating American Sign Language.  On April 15, 1817, the first school for the deaf in the United States opened. Students gathered there over the years and at subsequent deaf schools across our nation. The children intermingled Native American Signs, French Sign Language, and Martha’s Vineyard Sign Language. This process brought forth modern American Sign Language.

I posted my video on Twitter, and it got retweeted by the National American Sign Language twitter account.  As a new user to Twitter, and someone also just learning about Deaf culture, that was pretty exciting.

Leave a Reply

