My Personal Superhero

Today is National Superhero Day!

I confess that I am relatively late to the whole Superhero movement. I can’t claim any long personal history with comics. I don’t know much beyond the basics. I watched the Batman movies in the 90s, Spideman in the early 00s, and actually just watched Deadpool last night!

Having a boy has really brought me more in touch with the comic book and Superheroes concept.  I sought out versions of comic books geared toward the younger generations, such as Mini Marvels & Tiny Titans. We have costumes and bedsheets.  Kiddo has found his hero in Spiderman.

But I feel like my son is my favorite Superhero, so today I celebrate him!

I am proud that my Superhero helps others. Everyone could use a hand at some time and it’s always great to see him offer his without hesitation.  He is learning to stand up for himself and encourages others to do the same.  Sometimes the Superhero isn’t the biggest or fastest person in the room. Often, they are the person who stands up or speaks out, because it is the right thing to do.

My Superhero is curious – always interested in learning about new things. He faces his personal challenges and does not let what others might see as an obstacle (ADHD) prevent him from doing his very best.

He believes in the Good – in people and in how things will work out. The strength of his faith has been a blessing to me so many times over! When I struggle or am scared, he is quick to remind me that things will be okay. It will all work out in the end.

When I don’t believe in myself; he believes in me.

 

img_0690

Leave a Reply

