Climate Change

I do not consider myself to be a political person. I follow the news out of Washington as a means to stay informed about what’s going on in my world. I generally avoid discussing politics as all because the intensely personal nature of things like social policy.

I was in California visiting Michael’s family when Hillary Clinton accepted the nomination.  Tears rolled down my face as I explained to Kiddo that this moment was American history. I struggled to find the right words to tell him how huge that felt for me, as a woman. 

He learned about the election process at school. They did a mock vote and we talked about why he chose the candidate that he did.  On Election Day, I voted and remembered my grandfather, as I always have. 

Shortly before Inauguration Day, Kiddo cane home and talked about how there had been a discussion about the legacy of President Obama. 

This election marks is my sons first experience with change in our government figures.  I am struggling to explain to him what is happening right now. Honestly, I’m not certain I understand it completely. It’s been a long time since my last Government class in school. 

I do know that among many of my friends and family I no longer find hope – our political discussions are filled with anxiety, fear and uncertainty. 

Michael and I tend to have any political discussion while Kiddo is either asleep or not around (lunch).  As expected, these discussions can get intense and emotional. 

I was raised in the South and the general mindset was to respect the office even if you don’t respect the person holding it. I also tend to lean far more liberal than most in this part of the country. That makes it kind of common sense for me to hold my politics close to my chest. 

This weekend, we were asked if we had gone out and marched in protest. No, we had not. My sister was in town and we had a Scout event on Sunday.

I was a bit puzzled by the idea. I mean, absolutely protest if that’s what you want. Write letters and make phone calls. But protesting? I don’t know if that’s something I would feel comfortable doing with Kiddo. 

He’s almost 9 years old. I expect him to have opinions but I’m not of the mindset that they have to align with mine. Realistically, I think I know what he’d say on topics he’s aware of.  But the idea of taking him to a protest, sign and all, doesn’t sit right with me.

Maybe I just want to protect him from the world while I still can. 

One thought on “Climate Change

  1. Troubling times we’re in, for sure. My little man was devastated that Obama was leaving office. We don’t talk a lot of politics, but he knows just enough about Trump that he was really upset that we were losing Obama for him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

